A15: Confidentiality of participant records

Annotations

Policy #: A15
Responsible authority: International Training
Approval authority:Academic Standards and Learning Development
Approval date: Spring 2016

Preamble

The CPC College has a legal obligation to protect the individual's right to privacy regarding the personal and academic information in its possession. The Directive as it relates to confidentiality applied in this Directive is based on both the participant's right to privacy and the college's responsibility for the judicious use of participant data.

Directive

The College will regard each participant record as a unique and private document,
maintained in a secure, controlled environment. Access to participant information held in any medium (hard copy, computerized database, microfiche) must observe the principles of confidentiality according to pre-established guidelines. Data is used by the college for record keeping, reporting and analysis purposes only.

A participant's record data is maintained in the Registrar's office following a participant's last course after which time it is purged and archived.

Procedures, roles and responsibilities

  1. The term "participant record" refers to the data submitted in support of a participant's admission to the college and the participant's academic history at the college. For further description of the content of the current and permanent records, please see the Appendix A following this directive.
  2. Data held in a participant's record, established and held by the Registrar's Office and Training units, is subject to the principles of confidentiality applied in this directive.
  3. All requests for information regarding participants will be handled in the context of this directive.
  4. When a participant requests access to his/her own record, a validation process takes place. If the participant has contacted the Registrar's office by telephone, he/she must provide key information for verification against the information on file. If the participant has contacted the Registrar's Office in person, he/she must present valid photo identification (ID).
    • General Guidelines
    • 4.1 No information will be released to external third parties without written participant authorization. This includes requests from, prospective employers, police forces, credit bureaus, finance and loan companies, private investigation agencies, banks and similar organizations.
    • 4.2 The original documents on a participant file will not leave the master file, but appropriate copies may be released to College officials when requested in support of administrative or academic services on behalf of the participant.
    • 4.3 Documents from other institutions such as college or university transcripts which are submitted to support a participant's application for admission and/or transfer of academic credit may not be certified and released as part of the college record.
    • 4.4 In all courses, records of attendance as a separate item, do not form part of the official participant record.
    • 4.5 Participants accessing their own file may view the file but may not alter or remove any of its contents.
    • 4.6 Unless unusual circumstances prevail, no grades or certifications shall be released to an individual participant prior to the official release of grades and certifications to all participants.
    • 4.7 The requests from researchers conducting statistical studies must be reviewed by the Registrar's office. These will then be recommended for approval by the CPC Director General or delegate with stipulated conditions that will protect the participant's privacy.

Related directives

Admissions to CPC courses - R02

Date modified:

A15 : Confidentialité des dossiers des participants

Annotations

Directive no : A15
Responsable : Normes de formation et Élaboration de l'apprentissage
Approuvé par : Directrice exécutive du CCP
Date d'entrée en vigueur : Printemps 2016

Préambule

Le Collège canadien de police (CCP) a l'obligation légale de protéger les renseignements personnels et scolaires en sa possession. La présente directive porte à la fois sur le droit à la vie privée des participants et la responsabilité du Collège quant à l'utilisation judicieuse des renseignements des participants.

Directive

Le CCP considérera le dossier de chaque participant comme un document unique et privé qui doit être conservé dans un endroit sûr et contrôlé. L'accès aux renseignements sur les participants, quel que soit le support (copie papier, base de données informatisée, microfiche), doit se faire dans le respect des principes de confidentialité en fonction des lignes directrices préétablies. Le CCP utilise les renseignements uniquement à des fins de tenue des dossiers, de production de rapports et d'analyse.

Les renseignements contenus dans les dossiers des participants sont conservés au bureau du registraire pendant au moins un an après le dernier cours suivi, après quoi ils sont éliminés et archivés.

Procédure, rôle et responsabilitiés

  1. Par « dossier de participant », on entend les renseignements fournis à l'appui de l'admission d'un participant au Collège, auxquels est ajoutée la formation qu'il y a suivie. Pour une description plus détaillée du contenu des dossiers actifs et permanents, voir l'annexe A à la fin de la présente directive.
  2. Les renseignements figurant dans le dossier du participant, créé et détenu par le bureau du registraire et les groupes de la formation, sont soumis aux principes de confidentialité décrits dans la présente directive.
  3. Toutes les demandes d'information concernant des participants seront traitées dans le contexte de la présente politique.
  4. Lorsqu'un participant demande l'accès à son dossier, un processus de validation est engagé. Si le participant communique avec le bureau du registraire par téléphone, il doit fournir des renseignements clés qui seront vérifiés par rapport à ceux en dossier. S'il se présente au bureau du registraire, il doit montrer une pièce d'identité avec photo valide.
    • Directives générales
    • 4.1 En règle générale, aucune information ne sera communiquée à des tiers externes sans l'autorisation écrite du participant, ce qui comprend les demandes d'employeurs éventuels, de services de police, d'agences d'évaluation du crédit, de sociétés de financement et de prêt, d'organismes d'enquête privés, de banques et d'organismes semblables.
    • 4.2 Les documents originaux versés aux dossiers des participants demeureront dans le dossier principal, mais des copies acceptables peuvent être remises aux représentants du Collège, sur demande, à l'appui de services administratifs ou académiques au nom du participant.
    • 4.3 Les documents d'autres établissements, comme les relevés de notes collégiales ou universitaires présentés à l'appui de la demande d'admission d'un participant ou du transfert de crédits, ne peuvent pas être certifiés et communiqués dans le cadre du dossier du Collège.
    • 4.4 Dans tous les cours, le registre des présences, pris à part, ne fait pas partie du dossier officiel du participant.
    • 4.5 Les participants qui accèdent à leur dossier peuvent en consulter le contenu, mais ne peuvent rien modifier ni rien retirer.
    • 4.6 À moins de circonstances exceptionnelles, aucune note ou aucun certificat ne doit être donné à un participant avant la remise officielle à tous les participants.
    • 4.7 Les demandes de chercheurs pour des études statistiques doivent être examinées par le registraire, puis recommandées aux fins d'approbation par le directeur général du CCP ou son remplaçant, avec des conditions précises qui assurent la protection de la vie privée du participant.

Directives connexes

Inscription aux cours du CCP – R02

Date de modification :