Professional Development Centre for Aboriginal Policing

Created in 2006, the Professional Development Centre for Aboriginal Policing (PDCAP) provides advanced training to police officers working in Indigenous communities. These officers operate in mostly rural and remote locations and are frequently called to take on various leadership roles. As a result, they require relevant and specialized training to effectively respond to the legal, emotional and cultural aspects of policing.

PDCAP courses can be offered at various sites in Canada. Training is intensive, highly interactive and allows students an opportunity to develop working relationships with colleagues from Indigenous communities across Canada. Courses include a focus on organized crime disruption, indigenous gang prevention and integrated approaches to domestic violence and are designed to aid in organizational and employee wellness on topics such as stress, governance and other hot button issues. 

Funding

Police officers who work for a standalone First Nations Police Service, Indigenous police service or who are employed as peace officers through a First Nations Chief and Council are eligible for the Aboriginal Policing Professional Development Fund (APPDF). If you are eligible and would like to register, find out how to apply.

Contact

For questions about the course content or other information, please contact us.
RCMP.CPCPDCAP-CCPCPSPA.GRC@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Centre de perfectionnement pour les services policiers aux Autochtones

Créé en 2006, le Centre de perfectionnement pour les services policiers aux Autochtones (CPSPA) offre de la formation avancée aux policiers travaillant dans des collectivités autochtones. Ces policiers travaillent souvent en milieu rural et en régions éloignées, ce qui les amène à assurer divers rôles de leadership. Par conséquent, ils doivent suivre une formation appropriée et spécialisée afin de s’adapter efficacement aux réalités juridiques, psychologiques et culturelles du travail policier.

Les cours du CPSPA sont offerts à divers endroits au Canada. Il s'agit d'une formation intensive très interactive qui donne aux participants l'occasion d'établir des relations de travail avec des collègues de diverses collectivités autochtones au Canada. Les cours portent notamment sur la perturbation du crime organisé, la prévention des gangs autochtones et les approches intégrées à la violence familiale, et visent à favoriser le bien-être des employés et de l’organisation en traitant de divers sujets comme le stress, la gouvernance et d'autres questions de nature délicate.

Financement

Les policiers qui travaillent pour un service de police des Premières Nations autonome ou un service de police autochtone ou qui sont employés à titre d’agents de la paix par l’intermédiaire du chef et du conseil d’une Première Nation peuvent recevoir une bourse du Fonds pour le perfectionnement des services policiers aux Autochtones (FPSPA). Si vous y êtes admissible et souhaitez présenter une demande, cliquez ici pour savoir comment.

Contact

Pour toute question sur le contenu du cours ou d’autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec nous.
RCMP.CPCPDCAP-CCPCPSPA.GRC@rcmp-grc.gc.ca